Sending simple data to Arduino/Xbee module

Hi. This is probably going to be one of those questions… but even after a hundred hours on this stuff, I am still a beginner.

My question is pretty simple, though. I have device A and B. Device A is a properly wired Xbee and Arduino Uno on a breadboard. Device B is simply an Xbee on an explorer connected via USB to my computer. I am easily able to get the two to communicate, but I want to know how to send data from the Computer Xbee to the Arduino Xbee. Here is my code and I am wondering what is wrong.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial XBSerial = SoftwareSerial(2, 3);

int inByte = 0;

void setup()  {
  pinMode(9, OUTPUT);
  XBSerial.begin(9600);
  XBSerial.println("Setup finished.");
}

void loop()
{
  if (XBSerial.available()> 0) {
    inByte = XBSerial.read();
        if (inByte == 'R') {
          digitalWrite(9, HIGH);
        }else if (inByte == 'G') {
          digitalWrite(9, LOW);
    }
      else {
         digitalWrite(9, HIGH);
      }
              XBSerial.print((char)inByte);
  }
  delay(10);
}

As it shows, I want to be able to send the letter “R” or “G” from the Xbee using XCTU terminal to turn the LED on. However, I am realizing that this is probably impossible. I know Xbee uses AT commands such as +++, ATID, ATWR, etc. How can I get it to send a string command such as “R” to the other Xbee, which is then interpreted as a string by the Arduino?

As of right now, the only thing that works is the XCTU terminal will display “set up finished” although with some rather weird characters before it.

Furthermore, the portion of the code that turns on the LED regardless does not work, so there must be something wrong there as well…

Thank you.

Even if this is my code...

void loop()
{
  if (XBSerial.available()) digitalWrite(9, HIGH);
}

I cannot get the LED on..

To eliminate wiring issues, does the led come on if you remove the if?