Setting up an Arduino Uno with a LoRa module (RYLR896)

Good Morning,

I am new to electronics. Just received my first set of Arduino Unos for my first IoT attempt. I am trying to have one Uno send the other a 1 or 0 to blink a light using two Reyax RYLR896 modules (LoRa) at each end. After doing my research and understanding that the Uno is a 5v device and the Lora modules are 3v devices I also ordered a set of RoboDyn 4 Chanel Logic Level Converters to pass all the signals through. I saw all the youtube videos and felt ready to go yesterday when everything finally arrived.

I think I must be missing something VERY basic and after spending all night in frustration have decided to seek help from you guys. So thanks in advance!

Attached is a diagram of how I have hooked up the Lora modules to the Unos via the logic level converters. I then connected the Uno via USB to the computer, opened the IDE and made sure the proper board and port were selected. Then I opened the Serial Monitor and checked that "Both NL & CR" and "115200 baud" were selected in the bottom right hand option toggles.

However, I then attempted to send the first AT command to check connection and got no "+OK" response back from the transceiver module. Hookup is as per the attached illustration.

One thing I noticed is that in the related youtube videos they all seem to use a USB TTL adapter to setup the transceivers first. I am beginning to suspect that this might be the only way to "activate" these modules. Although this seems counter intuitive as in the sample codes/sketches for these modules you can clearly see the base AT commands used to communicate and set fundamental transceiver parameters in the sketches. This leads me to believe that there must be a way to utilize these modules without having to have a USB TTL type adapter.