Setup on Arduino Uno Rev3 with 2 12V motors and 1 High Torque servo

Hello,

I am pretty new to the Arduino world and I have a question concerning the setup for my project. I am using 2 12V 120RPM DC motors and 1 high torque servo and I was wondering what setup with my Arduino Uno Rev3 would work best. I figured I would need an H-bridge for the 2 motors, and knowing the voltage range of the servo is 3-7.2V I would maybe need to attach it also to an external power source as well as the two motors. I understand this may not be the case if I am not using too heavy of a load though so the 5V running through the Arduino may be fine. I wanted to get some feed back on the simplest way to get this to work with my Arduino. I have a few ideas in mind, but I wanted to get some feedback from more experienced Arduino users. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Hi, welcome to the forum.

Using the Arduino 5V pin for a servo motor is not fine at all. Even a cheap normal servo motor can have peak currents of 0.5A or even 1A.
The Arduino 5V output is not strong enough for that.

If you start with a 12V power supply, you might try to power the Arduino with that (to the power jack or to VIN). But I rather would use two DC-DC converters. One for 7.5V or 9V for the Arduino and the other for 6V for the servo motor.

I'm curious about your ideas...

Durand42:
Hello,