sharp GP2Y0D805Z0F arduino code

Hello guys,

I am new in this Arduino world. I have a sharp GP2Y0D805Z0F sensor, however, I cannot find any code that works. The sensor has a specification distance that goes from 0.5 to 5 cm.
I have tried the following code, but I don't understand why the output is in volts and not in cm. Is there a way to convert the volts into cm. Sorry if I lack technical knowledge, I am just starting at this.

int IRpin = 0; // Analogeingang
double value, volts;
void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop()
{
value = analogRead(IRpin);
volts = value*5.0/1024.0;
Serial.println(volts);
delay(50);
}

Hello guys,

I am new in this Arduino world. I have a sharp GP2Y0D805Z0F sensor, however, I cannot find any code that works. The sensor has a specification distance that goes from 0.5 to 5 cm.
I have tried the following code, but I don't understand why the output is in volts and not in cm. Is there a way to convert the volts into cm? Sorry if I lack technical knowledge, I am just starting at this.
Code: [Select]

int IRpin = 0; // Analogeingang
double value, volts;
void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop()
{
value = analogRead(IRpin);
volts = value*5.0/1024.0;
Serial.println(volts);
delay(50);
}

Hello
take a look here.

The output is in volts because of the code that you wrote. An analogue input measures a voltage in 1024 steps. You convert the measurement to volts.

Looking at the datasheet of the sensor, the sensor provides either high or low, not a linear voltage indicating distance. So its output indicates presence or no presence of an object inside its range.

The datasheet is available here: https://www.pololu.com/file/0J284/GP2Y0D805Z0F.pdf