Sharp IR Sensor with Arduino Board

Hi,

Im trying to do something which is probably quite simple to you guys but Im really struggling with it in my complete ignorance of Arduino!

Basically, I have one of these:

And I want to connect it to my Ardunio Board, in order to sense proximity.

Eventually I want to take the input information and use MAX/Jitter to create a visualization, but for the moment I just want to know how to get the sensor up and running.

I am a complete and utter beginner, I dont understand any of the jargon and I dont even know which wires to put into which pin!

I realize there is alot of info out there, almost too much, but I really dont have enough time to do random tutorials, and I cant find a tutorial which specifically relates to what I want to do.

Any help at all would be much appreciated!

Thanks very much

Rich

On the sensor:-
Pin 1 to the +5V of the Arduino
Pin 2 to the GND of the Arduino
Pin 3 to the Analogue input 0 of the Arduino

Then look in the playground at the program that is used to send signals from a potentiometer (pot) to the serial port and use that, it will behave just the same only you will be getting a signal proportional to the distance.

thanks for the reply, is this what you mean:

and when you say "program" do you mean that I take the code it gives there and put it into the Arduino software?

Thanks again

Yes that's the one
if you follow the wiring in my last post then change:-
int potPin = 2;
to
int potPin = 0;

that I take the code it gives there and put it into the Arduino software?

Yes and then up load it to the Arduino board. Then the LED will turn on and off with the sensor.

Then you can look at:-

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Interfacing/MaxMSP

And instead of using the value read from the sensor to decide if you turn the LED on, use that number to send to max

Excellent, after a bit of messing around it seems to be working, I think I had the wires in the wrong way.