Shuffleboard Scoreboard rebuild

Hi...

I'm a newbie to these types of builds and I'm not quite sure the correct language when searching the forum. So hopefully some folks can point me in the correct direction to get this project up and running.

We have a 22 foot shuffleboard from the 1950s that has been completely rebuilt except for the the electronics controlling the scoreboard. There was too much water damage and all the old "brains" and wires cannot be salvaged. So in comes the Arduino UNO, 4 momentary buttons, and about 110 LEDs (by counting the original old light bulbs on each side of the board).

Each end would have a red button and a blue button (4 total). What we would like to happen is every time someone scores at the end of each frame a momentary button (either red or blue team) would be pressed for each score. Each press would light an LED sequencing through 1-9 depending on what the score was. Once you get to 10, it would light the number 10 above (keeping it lit) and then go back down and sequence through 1-9 again until you get to 20. Then the 20 light would stay lit and the 10 light turn off.

Lights...
Red side (x2 sides)
1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9

10 - 20 - 30 - 40 - 50

Blue side (x2 sides)
1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9

10 - 20 - 30 - 40 - 50

Does any of this make sense? Can anyone point me in the correct direction? I'll post up some pictures of the scoreboard glass and the diffuser/light bulbs behind the glass.

Thank you and sorry for such a long first post!

I forgot I did have pictures already.

A MCP23017 I2C expander chip can handle 16 I/O lines. 4 of those chips to interface 64 of the lights, one red front, blue front, red back and blue back.

What are the specs of the LEDs (If, Vf)? If the LEDs take more than about 20mA each, you will need driver transistors for them if using I2C expanders.

An alternative to the I2C expanders are the high current 595 shift registers.