Simple RTC Timer Returning 0's for despite Read Test Example returning correct date/time

I'm working with this code to automate a small door on a timer using a DS1307 RTC; I have set the RTC time using the SetTime Example within the DS1307 RTC Examples and it returns the correct time when checked with ReadTest Example. However, when I load my program onto the Arduino, any Serial.print data returns 00:00:00 1/1/1970 as though the rtc is not responsive. I'm a super green beginner and borrowed this code from somewhere else and modified it to work with my RTC, but is there something obvious I'm missing? The functions for the Button Open and Close work fine, only the timer sections wont work.

#include <Wire.h>
#include <RTClib.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>

#define DS1307_CRTL_ID 0x68
RTC_DS1307 rtc;

/*
 * GND - GND
 * VCC - 5v
 * SDA - SDA
 * SCL - SCL
 */

#define RELAY1  2
#define RELAY2  3

tmElements_t tm;
int dOpen = 1;
int dClose = 0;

#define BUTTONOp        8  // Button
#define BUTTONCl        9  // Button

void setup()
{
  // Initialize the rtc object
rtc.begin();
Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(RELAY1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(RELAY2, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(RELAY1,HIGH);
  digitalWrite(RELAY2,HIGH);

pinMode(BUTTONOp, INPUT);  digitalWrite(BUTTONOp, HIGH);
  pinMode(BUTTONCl, INPUT);  digitalWrite(BUTTONCl, HIGH);

}

void loop()
{

if (digitalRead(BUTTONOp) == 0)
  {
      //Open Door button
      digitalWrite(RELAY1,LOW);
      Serial.println("Button Open");
  }
  else if (digitalRead(BUTTONCl) == 0)
  {
      //Close Door button
      digitalWrite(RELAY2,LOW);
      Serial.println("Button Close");
  }
  else if (tm.Hour == 7 && (tm.Minute == 00 || tm.Minute == 1))
  {
      //Open Door timer
      Serial.println("Door Open");

}
  else if (tm.Hour == 19 && (tm.Minute == 00 || tm.Minute == 1))
  {
      //Close door timer
      Serial.println("Door Close");
  }
  else
  {
    //Stop

}
}

Hi, welcome to the forum.