Sine wave to servo motor

Hi!

For my senior design project for UVM, we are using an arduino uno board to control a servo motor that hopefully will be programmed to a modified sine wave. I'm new at using the arduino software, so can someone please help me get started on how I would begin to write my code?

Thanks!

Reading material.

https://www.google.com/search?as_q=servo+sine&as_epq=&as_oq=&as_eq=&as_nlo=&as_nhi=&lr=&cr=&as_qdr=all&as_sitesearch=http%3A%2F%2Fforum.arduino.cc%2Findex&as_occt=any&safe=images&tbs=&as_filetype=&as_rights=

uvmlung:
to control a servo motor that hopefully will be programmed to a modified sine wave.

What does this mean?

Are you talking about a hobby servo as used in model aircraft?

Or are you talking about the sort of servo that is used in CNC machines as an alternative to stepper motors?

What do you mean by "programmed to a modified sine wave"?

...R

For our senior design project we are using a servo motor to control a very small hinged door that restricts air flow. We need the door to move in a specific pattern (a modified sine wave). So we're hoping to program our servo motor to rotate according to this modified sine wave, but we're a little stumped on where to start.

You didn't say if you are planning to use a hobby servo but, since you are moving a door, I presume you are.

Could you store the pattern of movement as a series of angles in an array and then iterate through the array something like this?

myservo.write(array[n]);

...R

Yes, we will be using a hobby servo to control our door.

So after converting the modified sine wave into an array, do I just use it as an input?

Such as:
Servo myservo; // create servo object to control a servo

int pos = 0; // variable to store the servo position

void setup()
{
myservo.write(array[n]); // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object
}

If you can describe the path that you want the servo to follow, then we can suggest sensible ways to implement that.