Small Footprint ATMEGA328P

As a way to more fully understand the inner workings of an Arduino, I tried to make a minimal ATMEGA328P board on a small footprint (3cm × 6cm) PCB. I learned quite a bit. See the attached files that illustrate my attempt.
My question is, did I miss anything? Will this work?
I apologize if this is the wrong forum for this question or if it is an inappropriate question to ask. I am rather new to all of this. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I recognize that this ATMEGA328P will have to be programmed before inserting it in this board. I was planning on using a DIP socket.

You should have some small decoupling caps near to the 328 across the power supply.

Many, many small footprint PCBs are already available for the ATmega328, and they work. The Dorkboard from 2008 was fun.

An ATmega328 on a breadboard works too.

hammy:
You should have some small decoupling caps near to the 328 across the power supply.

Thanks for the input. I have a 100nF cap after the regulator and a 22uF after the 328. One of the pages jremington suggested above has two 0.1uF on either side of the 328. Would that do the trick?

Vcc and Aref each require a 100 nF bypass cap, as close as possible to the pin.

jremington:
Vcc and Aref each require a 100 nF bypass cap, as close as possible to the pin.

Thanks! Would I still need the 22uF cap at Vcc and the 100nF by the regulator?

This is what I made for programming mine.

by the regulator?

For any complex part, always follow the recommendations in the data sheet and/or the manufacturer's recommended application circuit.

jremington:
For any complex part, always follow the recommendations in the data sheet and/or the manufacturer's recommended application circuit.

+1 you don't have to cast around for this, the manufacturer has you covered.

You need 0.1uF on each of VCC, AVCC, and Aref. Do not connect Aref to +5.