Small GPS tracker

Hi !

I would like to create small GPS tracker, intended for Pets. I know that there are professional products out there, only problem is that I need access to this tracking data, and since none of current companies has open APIs that I could use, I was thinking of creating one such tracker myself...

What I need is following... I would need GPS module (shield) that connects to Arduino (I don't know which would be best, but it has to be small) and then GSM shield. Arduino needs to pool GPS every 10 s (or so) and send data to specific WebService (via GSM shield).

Now since I am very new to Arduino I would need some advice:

1. Which GPS module to use?
  2. Which Arduino to use. Would Mini or Micro version be able to handle this two devices/shields?

Any advice is very welcome.
Andy

Anything with a "shield" won't be small, in my view. What are your size requirements?

jremington:
Anything with a "shield" won't be small, in my view. What are your size requirements?

As small as possible. I would need to have this attached to a dog (on collar perhaps). It shouldn't be too big, or dog won't like it and will try to remove it. Perhaps using it in pouch not around colar would give option to use something bigger.

I need modules as small as possible. I am very new to Arduino, so size difference between shield / modules are unknown to me at this point.

After looking arround I was thinking of combined GPRS / GPS shield (like Adafruit FONA 808) or perhaps using Bee module (GPS Bee Kit) for GPS, problem is that I can't find Bee module for GSM/GPRS...

Would I need full sized Arduino or could I use Mini/Micro with such shield (Adafruit)?

Andy

The Adafruit FONA 808 looks very promising. A Pro Mini would be enough to run it. I've had good luck with the cheap ones on eBay.

If you are a beginner, this will be a challenging project. Battery life is an issue, too.

Hi !