Solid State Relay Leakage?

I have a Solid State Relay (Solid State Relay - 8A - COM-10636 - SparkFun Electronics) in a project switching 120V AC. An Atmega328 digital pin is connected through a 200ohm resistor to the SSR +, and the SSR - is connected to ground. The one pin on the load side of the SSR is connected to 120V AC to test it.

My problem is that when the SSR should be off, about 12V AC (I think it's AC) leaks through. When its on, the 120V AC switches on like it's supposed to.

I'm rather new to controlling 120V, and I dont know if the leakage is normal or did I break the SSR? Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Yes, that's normal.
It's not a fully open or closed switch.
It, its triac, is a semiconductor - so when it's off it's a large resistance, not an infinite resistance.
Does that make sense?

I guess so...my only other option would be to use a normal relay? The SSR relay is going to be driving another 3 phase one, so will the 12V leak trigger it?

Dependence of Donor Concentration of doped semiconductor on Temperature

Sharp Solid State Relay Repetitive Peak OFF-state Current

At 25 C, the leakage current is 10-6 A, you need put dummy load resistor, 100k=105 ohm and voltage will be 0.1 V.

Okay I'll put the 100k resistor in the circuit.

Thanks

1/2 w or 1/4 w

Okay...that didn't seem to work. Now across the relay contacts there is 120V when the connection is supposed to be open, I assume this is the voltage flowing through the resistor. I just want the relay to be like a light switch: either on or off. But 0.1v would be okay I think..?

Is there any real advantage to using solid state relays or am I just better off with a mechanical one?

Solid State relays have leakage. If you want to repeatedly switch something on / off, use them.
But when you want the SSR to be fully off, say after pressing an off switch, a mechanical relay should be across the load to take it off the SSR.

If you aren't switching repeatedly, then use a mechanical relay.