SOLVED - Beginner circuit with DC motor

I am a beginner working sequentially through the first part of Arduino for Dummies. I was rocking along and I feel like I understand everything very well so far, but for some reason I can't seem to get the "Motor Sketch" to work. This is just a very simple sketch using a digital pin and a transistor to turn a DC motor off and on (1 sec intervals). I built the circuit and uploaded the sketch expecting it to work, but the motor didn't turn.

Since this was my first time using both the motor and the transistor, I split the circuit into two parts and tested each separately. I know the transistor works because if I replace the motor with an LED (and resistor), it blinks off and on as expected. I know the motor works, because if I hook it straight up to +5v and GND (with diode), it spins great. But when I put the two halves together, I get nothing. Since I am using pin 13 on the board for the signal, I can see that it is working because the on-board LED blinks.

The transistor is a PN2222A. I think everything else is visible in the attached photo. I swear that this matches both the diagram and the schematic in the book. But electrons don't lie, so there must be something wrong with it. If you can see my error, please let me know.

Thank you!

P.S. First post, so hoping photo uploads successfully...

Many problems.

Note: The PN2222A terminals are EBC left to right as shown in image.
The base appears to have no resistor, if it's 1K or 2K - the value is too high.
The two 1K resistors appear to be connected in series.
The emitter should be tied to ground - not the motor.
The collector should switch the motor.
The kickback diode is installed incorrectly.
If the motor draws more than 500mA, you should use a more powerful transistor (i.e. 1.5A or higher).
The 9V battery cannot source much current - not meant to drive a motor.
There's more ... this is a start.