Some (complex?) noobie data aquisition/storage hel

I'm looking for any sort of direction on this I can get. I'm not a complete novice with the arduino (I've done every basic tutorial I know of, except maybe the I2C stuff), but I'm sure this is still very much over my head.

I'm a grad student looking to make a cheap data storage/acquisition system that would primarily get its data from something called a geophone... which, to summarize, basically puts out a small AC voltage/amperage (v in the range of a few hundred millivolts) depending on the mechanical energy it receives. I noticed one thread that came close to answering some of my questions, but it trailed off in another direction. I haven't really found anything else that was too useful.

I'd need a much higher resolution than what the arduino has to offer as far as its ADC (more like 16/20/24 bit resolution) recording say, at 3khz. I'd imagine the recordings would only go on for a quarter of a second on average, so an SD card would probably be sufficient as far as the size of the storage, but I guess i'm still curious about speed. Also, I'd need about 12 channels (which could conceivably be achieved by using multiple atmels or setups).

I suppose my questions are as follows: can you connect a higher resolution, higher frequency ADC to the arduino? can you write to an SD card at say 24 bit resolution 3000 times a second for a quarter of a second? could one arduino handle more than one channel? could one arduino take in more than one channel and also write more than one channel?

If anyone is curious, I'd be happy to keep up with whatever help I get and post responses... but really I need some guidance (either posts or links to helpful sites).

I haven't played with either ADCs or external storage, so I'm going to be of limited help, probably pointing out stuff you already know. If I do, my apologies.

can you connect a higher resolution, higher frequency ADC to the arduino?