Sound to light controller with PWM project, partyvan essentials.

Hi, this is my first Arduino project and i need some help.
I wanna make a sound to light controller for LED strips that use PWM to make the LEDs flicker in sync with the beat. My idea was to use the subwoofer channel as source by using the RCA wire going to the subamp and have a Arduino control the LEDs (like this, but in the sub channel as source, not a mic).

To make it alot more fun, this is to be installed in a older Volkswagen Caravelle.
Where i come from this is our graduation, making party vans out of old cars and driving around partying for 3 weeks straight...
So, since i work at a Radio Shack-ish shop with alot of Arduino stuff, i thought i will do something different with our partyvan.

Im completely new to Arduino, but i have always tinkered with electronics and i have a fairly good base understanding of it. Im reading alot on Arduino (this, amoung others) and learning/tinkering as i go , something im used to. So to my problems and concerns:

• Input signal and coding: If im not mistaken, the analog signal from a stereo to a subamp varies in Volts, not much in ampere. So the coding to make the Arduino figure out what to do with it, how to set different levels so that it can translate that to PWN levels. Preferably it can regulate seamlessly, not just on and off, but everything in between as well. And how to do this with varying sound levels, where i presume the volts will go up. Thinking of sampling the highest and lowest voltage x times a second and setting 255 levels, representing PWM levels. Coding?

• Voltage of the LEDs: The strips require 12 v and are RGB, so they can change in colour. But, i will have to use a voltageregulator (considering this atm), but wont this interfere with the PWM? Or am i just ignorant here hahaha.