Speed control of DC Geared motor with encoder using arduino mega

Hello,
I am doing a project in which I am using High torque High precision Encoder DC geared Motor (12V 300RPM). I have to code the DC motor to run at a specific speed using Arduino Mega 2560. This is my first time experience with Arduino and have very little knowledge of coding. I have been able to run my motor at its full speed using the basic example in encoder library.

/* Encoder Library - Basic Example
 * This example code is in the public domain.
 */

#include <Encoder.h>

// Change these two numbers to the pins connected to your encoder.
//   Best Performance: both pins have interrupt capability
//   Good Performance: only the first pin has interrupt capability
//   Low Performance:  neither pin has interrupt capability
Encoder myEnc(5, 6);
//   avoid using pins with LEDs attached

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Basic Encoder Test:");
}

long oldPosition  = -999;

void loop() {
  long newPosition = myEnc.read();
  if (newPosition != oldPosition) {
    oldPosition = newPosition;
    Serial.println(newPosition);
  }
}

The issue is I am unable to control the speed of the motor. I want my motor to run at a specified speed in either forward or backward direction until I change the speed, direction or stop the motor. I have a RMCS-2301 motor driver but I did not use it while running my motor at full speed. Thus, I am not vey sure whether I am required to use it for this purpose. Eventually I have to control 4 motors but for now I want to get it right for one motor and then proceed further. I would really appreciate any help regarding how to control the speed of my motor.

Motor: https://robokits.co.in/motors/encoder-dc-servo/high-torque-high-precision-encoder-dc-geared-motor-12v-300rpm

Motor Driver: https://robokits.download/downloads/RMCS-2301.pdf

Thanks in advance.

For this you need a control loop. That is usually implemented with a PID controller library.