Speed & Proximity Sensor

What I am interested in is a device that can measure how fast a bowling ball is traveling and how far the ball is from the sensor as it passes by. The sensor would be placed on one side of the lane perpendicular to the lane. I imagine two light beam sensors for speed, and and ultrasonic sensor for distance.

I'm mainly a software guy, and I'm new to arduino. Don't hesitate to talk about hardware as if I'm a complete idiot.

Is there any reason this cant work?

I did something similar with rolling a marble down a ramp. I had a LED on one side and a phototransistor on the other. And another pair further down. You can detect the time differences and turn that into speed (assuming you know how far apart they are).

The bowling lane would be wider but perhaps a little laser pointer on one side hitting a LDR on the other would do the trick.

The code is pretty trivial.

... how far the ball is from the sensor as it passes by ...

You know that, don't you? Adjacent to the sensor.

My thought was to place the light sensors to measure 2" of travel, then use that speed to determine when to trigger the ultrasound device so it will measure the distance to the middle of the ball.

I want to measure speed in the X direction and the distance in the Y direction

That way the ultrasound device will trigger later when the ball is slow, and sooner when it is fast.

I was also thinking of keeping all of the electronics on one side of the lane and place small mirrors on the other side to reflect the light source back.

Will the real Werner Heisenberg please stand up?

JimboZA:
Will the real Werner Heisenberg please stand up?

They say brilliant minds think alike, and sometimes a blind squirrel finds a nut.

I assume you are referring to the position, momentum issue, and not the observer effect.

You know that, don't you? Adjacent to the sensor.

In one dimension yes, but from this:

I want to measure .... the distance in the Y direction