Stepper Motor Power Supply

Hello,

I'm new to stepper motors and seeking some guidance. I've read a ton of posts and I'm rather confused...

I have a Nema 17 stepper motor with a rated current of 1.7A. I want to control it using my Arduino nano and an A4988 motor driver (per attached standard wiring).
My Arduino will be powered from a separate power bank (https://amzn.com/dp/B00FDK2G2C/).

My questions:

1. Is the A4988 driver suitable for my stepper motor (datasheet mentions: Output drive capacity of up to 35 V and ± 2 A)? I've read it can handle up to 2A with a heat sink but I'm not sure. If not, which driver would you recommend?

2. I understand that the motor voltage rating is irrelevant as limiting the current will limit the voltage per ohms law. How do choose the power supply? I've read everywhere that "higher voltage is better" and "12v-24v DC power supply" is good. But I have no idea where these numbers come from and what amps should I be looking for in the power supply...

I would appreciate any help.
Thanks

The A4988 can deliver only about 1 A/phase without extra cooling, so be SURE to set the current limit to that or below.

If you need the full torque, you will need a higher current motor driver like this one. Again, follow instructions to set the current limit.

A laptop power brick, say 16V at 3A will be more than adequate. Pick them up cheap at thrift shops or computer recycling outfits.

as limiting the current will limit the voltage per ohms law

Not so. The current limiting is active. Look up the motor winding resistance on the motor data sheet (post a link to it).

You're on the right track. Thanks for the fine wiring!
Using a powerbank might force You to waist, by pulsing, some current to keep the powerbank stay online. I use them.

I think it's A4988 I'm using. Heat sinks are needed and a little fan moving the air will be fine.
Make sure that the motor power supply handles at least 5 Amps.