Stepper Motor speed controled by potentiometer / adding a speed change

Hi there,

I am a beginner in Arduino and need some help to do something that sounds simple but I can’t find the solution in my readings.

I am controlling a bi-polar stepper motor (Nema 17 / 17HS13-1204S) with a DRV8825 Driver and Arduino Nano.
The motor should run in continuous, the speed is controlled by a potentiometer. There is a button controlling the direction (FORWbutton = Forward), a STOP Button and a general ON button. Everything is working fine with the code I could write.

I would like to add a parameter that would make the motor run at half of the speed determined by the pot for 1 second when it start (when ONButton turns HIGH) , then at normal speed.

I have found some code doing that with fixed speeds but I can not figure out how to do this when the speed is determined by a pot.

Is there a simple way to do this?

Here is the code I have now :

const int stepPin = 3;
const int dirPin = 2;
const int sleepPin = 4; 
int customDelay,customDelayMapped; // Defines variables
const int FORWbuttonPin = 6;
int FORWbuttonState = 0;
const int ONbuttonPin = 7;
int ONbuttonState = 0;
const int STOPbuttonPin = 8;
int STOPbuttonState = 0;

void setup() {
  // Sets the two pins as Outputs
  pinMode(FORWbuttonPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(ONbuttonPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(STOPbuttonPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(stepPin,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dirPin,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(sleepPin,OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(dirPin,HIGH); //Enables the motor to move in a particular direction
}
void loop() {

customDelayMapped = speedUp(); // Gets custom delay values from the custom speedUp function
  // Makes pules with custom delay, depending on the Potentiometer, from which the speed of the motor depends

FORWbuttonState = digitalRead(FORWbuttonPin);
  if (FORWbuttonState == HIGH)  {
    digitalWrite(dirPin, HIGH);
  } else {
    digitalWrite(dirPin, LOW);
  }
  STOPbuttonState = digitalRead(STOPbuttonPin);
  if (STOPbuttonState == HIGH)  {