Sure Electronics Compass Module Dc-SS503 I2C

Hiya,

I'm very new to MCU's so take it easy please. I'm disabled and living on a pension so doing things cheap helps alot. I saw these modues and being cheap but using an ok sensor chip thought I woud give it a go. Despite only seeing a single post on another MCU platform someone more experienced than me having issues.

Got this working on an I2C bus speed of 100K and just internal pull ups. The compass module has soldered in 4.7K but seems ok on 400K and internal pull ups disabled. Using copper hook up wire around a foot. I think this is a problem with other devices on the bus.

For around $15.00 shipped, a cheap alternative. Calibration does move a bit but I've got alot of wireless sources around maybe ? but only moving by a few degrees and reset/set the sensor seems to work.

Using a Seeed Mega and the Arduino 17.

Now tryng the improved version with UART version but having trouble. Serial ports on the seeduino loop back on each other fine, so waiting for some tech replies from Sure.

These chips are very sensitive to electro magnetic fields including mobiles and wireless and be careful with ohm meters and soldering irons ferrous connectors...LOL.

There are some funnies in the Sure electronics data sheet, but reading all of them it's sorted.

I2C data does not appear in the stated order, not sure if that is a wires library buffer issue or the slave device, I do not have a scope or data probe.

Also the order you address and write to the slave status register to request a reading is a bit ambigous in the sure data sheet but clear correct in the memsic datasheet for the sensor/i2c chip.

Not sure what the rules are on posting code and methods but more than happy to share

Davo

Thanks for sharing. Posting code is always a good idea.
Also, the link to the Sure sensor would be helpful, as well as photos, videos of it working etc.

Great find. See if you can get some demos up. I've been looking for a compass