text alarm

hi guys,
im new to all this programming stuff and after spending 3 days feeling like im right on the verge of cracking this i surrender. im trying to make an alarm to protect my kayaks when there on my roof rack when i am camping. i plan to have a 5v wire coming out of my device around my boats and back to an input pin (4) when the wire is pulled from its connector or cut i would like an alarm to sound (pin 12 LED for testing) and for a text message to be sent to my phone but i just cant get it right. in the program below the LED comes on when i pull the wire and the text is sent when i put it back in i have no idea why but this is the closest i have been in 3 days please help me out

Code:
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>  
char gsm_char=0;      //Stores character from the gsmSerial

SoftwareSerial gsmSerial(2,3);  //Creates a software serial port. (rx 2, tx 3)
const int buttonPin = 4;     // the number of the pushbutton pin
int ledPin =  12;      // the number of the LED pin
int buttonState = 0;         // variable for reading the pushbutton status

void setup()
{
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);  // initialize the LED pin as an output:
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);   // initialize the pushbutton pin as an input:  
  Serial.begin(9600);//Initialize serial ports for communication. set baud rate
  gsmSerial.begin(9600);//Initialize gsm serial ports for communication.set baud rate
  Serial.println("Starting TC35 and debug Communication..."); //print to PC serial moniter display
}

void loop() {
 buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);
    if (buttonState == LOW) {// if wire breaks     
        digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); //then give output (high) to ledpin
        //delay(500);
        gsmSerial.print("AT+CMGF=1\r"); //and Set gsm module to text mode.
        delay(500); // thinking time for gsm module
        gsmSerial.print("AT+CMGS=+447788704543\r"); //AT command to send SMS to my number
        delay(100); // thinking time for gsm module