Toastmasters Speech Timer

Hey, I'm new at this (this is my first post, but I did have the common decency to Google and make sure there wasn't already something out there on this) and want to see if a project I'm thinking of tackling is even feasible for someone with no experience.

I am the president of my local Toastmasters club. People give speeches and have them timed and evaluated. The speeches range in length from 1-2 minutes to upwards of 20 minutes, but the common thread is that there is a defined minimum time and maximum time. The speaker is notified when he has reached the minimum time with a green card, then shown a yellow card upon reaching the midpoint between the minimum and maximum times, and finally shown a red card upon reaching the maximum time limit for the speech.

I would like to replace this manual function with a machine that would look something like a stoplight but would automatically time the speeches and light up the green, yellow, and red lights automatically as needed. I think the easiest way to control the device would be to connect it to a smartphone or laptop through a captive WiFi connection, but I am open to other suggestions.

I have fairly extensive C++ experience but haven't used it in a long time. I'm confident in my ability to program this device, though. It's the hardware side I'm worried about.

Is this something feasible for a first project, or am I about to get in over my head?

If it is feasible, is it something that could be done with Arduino, and do you have any suggestions in terms of LED modules, power supply, and a case?