Totally Frustrated

Totally Frustrated with IDE. Back in version 1.x.x everything was pretty good. Mac user. New Mac with M3 chip set. Loaded newest version of Arduino for Mac Arm. Had a project on older Mac that was Intel and worked and compiled okay. Copied to USB drive and transfered to new Mac. Opened Okay. Will Not Compile. Lots of errors about SparkFunSX1509. I updated it to current version. That did not help. Read the item about needing Rossetta needing to be installed. Could not make that work from command line. Deleted the ARM version and installed the Intel Version and that made the Box come up about Rossetta. Clicked on that and installed it. Still would not run the verify of a known working shetch. Threw out the Intel version and reinstalled the ARM version. Still will not verify. Still mad about the SparkFunSX1509 and also mad about 2Wire.. Also mad about CPU. Gave up on this computer and pulled out a MacBook Pro. It will open sketches that do not use the SX1509 but do use the wire. Finally gave up and pulled the intel iMac Intel that all of the projects were developed on and went back to using it.

Item 1 These programs need to be portable to any computer running the Arduino IDE. I don,t care what is wrong your software needs to fix it automatically.

Item 2 You need to get all of the compiling things fixed on the Mac ARM now. It has bee 5 years and you are still wanting to force Rosetta ( only 2 years left before it goes away ) to be present to compile because of some old lingering x86 crap.

Item 3 Put the Print Function back.

Until then I have to carry my old iMac desktop to the devices that are installed in the field instead of either of my 2 Mac Book pros intel or my MacBook Pro M4. Not a pleasant situation. This because out of 6 different Macs only 1 will open all of the sketches.

I moved your topic to an appropriate forum category @lefevre1.

In the future, when creating a topic please take some time to pick the forum category that best suits the subject of your topic. There is an "About the _____ category" topic at the top of each category that explains its purpose.

This is an important part of responsible forum usage, as explained in the "How to get the best out of this forum" guide. The guide contains a lot of other useful information. Please read it.

Thanks in advance for your cooperation.

Hi @lefevre1.

I'm going to ask you to provide the full output from a compilation that has these errors you so vague mentioned.


:red_exclamation_mark: This procedure is not intended to solve the problem. The purpose is to gather more information.


Please do this:

  1. Start Arduino IDE on one of your Apple Silicon Mac machines.
  2. Open the problematic sketch.
  3. Select Sketch > Verify/Compile from the Arduino IDE menus.
  4. Wait for the compilation to fail.
  5. You will see a "Compilation error: ..." notification at the bottom right corner of the Arduino IDE window. Click the "COPY ERROR MESSAGES" button on that notification.
  6. Open a reply here on this forum topic by clicking the "Reply" button.
  7. Click the <CODE/> icon on the post composer toolbar.
    This will add the forum's code block markup (```) to your reply to make sure the error messages are correctly formatted.
  8. Press the Ctrl+V keyboard shortcut (Command+V for macOS users).
    This will paste the compilation output into the code block.
  9. Move the cursor outside of the code block markup before you add any additional text to your reply.
  10. Click the "Reply" button to publish the post.

In case the output is longer than the forum software will allow to be added to a post, you can instead save it to a .txt file and then attach that file to a reply here.

Click here for attachment instructions

  1. Open any text editor program.
  2. Paste the copied output into the text editor.
  3. Save the file in .txt format.
  4. Open a reply here on this forum topic by clicking the "Reply" button.
  5. Click the "Upload" icon (Upload icon) on the post composer toolbar:

    The "Open" dialog will open.
  6. Select the .txt file you saved from the "Open" dialog.
  7. Click the "Open" button.
    The dialog will close.
  8. Click the "Reply" button to publish the post.

Alternatively, instead of using the "Upload" icon on the post composer toolbar as described in steps (5) - (7) above, you can simply drag and drop the .txt file onto the post composer field to attach it.

A community member shared instructions for adding a Print functionality to Arduino IDE here:

I haved been using Macs for years, my latesdt is an M5 MBP. Rosetta is needed for a few toolchain executables and once installed you never hear of it again. I have never had an issue that was Mac Intel or ARM related, and very few problems with IDE 2.
Without seeing the output it appears you are simply missing a library, here it is on github SparkFunSX1509 Library

The problem appears to be is that the Spark Fun SX1509 library is not installed or even listed. I have downloaded it several time and used the add to library command from rhew downloaded zip file. It is not installed. There is a SX1509 library installed but not a SparkFunSX1509.h. Apparently install of new new libraries on the latest versions of the Arduino IDE does no longer work. Running on a Mac Mini Apple Silicone. I have found several step by step how to articles and have followed them exactly. They do not work . I guess I will have to stay with an older Mac running Intel and Arduino 1.8 until this gets fixed.

I have tried this 10 times. It will not install.

Also the Pololu "Tic.h" will not install either.

Jim

Have you tried installing it from the IDE Library Manager ?

I can't imagine it has anything to do with what Mac you are using.

Nice try does not work. It shows that the plug in has been loaded and only gives a option to remove.

The sketch will compile okay as long and no references to the 1509 exist and the #include <SparkFunSX1509.h> is not at the very top of the sketch.

I build a very simple sketch with no I/O or any other reference to the 1509 from the Tic from polou

Error message attached
Screenshot 2026-02-16 at 19.43.23.pdf (49.4 KB)

build a simpl sketch without the #include <SparkFunSX1509.h> at the very top. Make sure that it will compile. I am using an arduino nano every. that should work. then at the include statement listed and it will give not compile and give the error message that I have attached.

Screenshot 2026-02-16 at 19.43.23.pdf (49.4 KB)

I have the same problem with the Tic.h driver for the stepper motor driver boards from Pololu.

The 3 rd include is the Wire.h for the IC2 buss. That one will compile okay

Please don't post pictures of errors especially when they are rotated by 90 degrees

Use the "COPY ERROR MESSAGES" button in the IDE and post them in code tags to make reading them easier

Do any of the examples from the library work ?

I have only used 3 . the SX1509 and the Tic and the Wire. The include Wire dose compile. The Tic and SX1509 will not. I have only one Mac that will properly compile and it is an older iMac with an intel chip set. All my other Macs are apple silicon. the will compile with the Wire but not the other two statements. They are running version 2 something . The intel one is running 1.8

What happens if you use the library version that compiles on the Intel Mac on the other Macs ?

That is what I am doing. AFAIK there is only one version of the Tic and 1509. I do not see an intel or apple silicon versions, just one version.

The architecture of your computer's CPU is not relevant to Arduino libraries.

You are drawing the incorrect conclusion from the fact that the fault occurs on your Apple Silicon machine, but does not occur on the "Intel" machine. The difference in CPU architecture is purely coincidental. The different results are caused by some other difference in the environments provided by each machine.

I'm going to ask you to provide the full verbose output from a compilation.


:red_exclamation_mark: PLEASE FOLLOW MY INSTRUCTIONS EXACTLY!!!


Please do this:

  1. Open the sketch in Arduino IDE.
  2. Select File > Preferences... (or Arduino IDE > Settings... for macOS users) from the Arduino IDE menus.
    The "Preferences" dialog will open.
  3. Check the box next to "Show verbose output during: ☐ compile" in the "Preferences" dialog.
  4. Click the "OK" button.
    The "Preferences" dialog will close.
  5. Select Sketch > Verify/Compile from the Arduino IDE menus.
  6. Wait for the compilation to fail.
  7. You will see a "Compilation error: ..." notification at the bottom right corner of the Arduino IDE window. Click the "COPY ERROR MESSAGES" button on that notification.
  8. Open a reply here on this forum topic by clicking the "Reply" button.
  9. Click the <CODE/> icon on the post composer toolbar.
    This will add the forum's code block markup (```) to your reply to make sure the error messages are correctly formatted.
  10. Press the Ctrl+V keyboard shortcut (Command+V for macOS users).
    This will paste the compilation output into the code block.
  11. Move the cursor outside of the code block markup before you add any additional text to your reply.
  12. Click the "Reply" button to publish the post.

In case the output is longer than the forum software will allow to be added to a post, you can instead save it to a .txt file and then attach that file to a reply here.

Click here for attachment instructions

  1. Open any text editor program.
  2. Paste the copied output into the text editor.
  3. Save the file in .txt format.
  4. Open a reply here on this forum topic by clicking the "Reply" button.
  5. Click the "Upload" icon (Upload icon) on the post composer toolbar:

    The "Open" dialog will open.
  6. Select the .txt file you saved from the "Open" dialog.
  7. Click the "Open" button.
    The dialog will close.
  8. Click the "Reply" button to publish the post.

Alternatively, instead of using the "Upload" icon on the post composer toolbar as described in steps (5) - (7) above, you can simply drag and drop the .txt file onto the post composer field to attach it.

FQBN: arduino:megaavr:nona4809
Using board 'nona4809' from platform in folder: /Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8
Using core 'arduino' from platform in folder: /Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8

Detecting libraries used...
/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5/bin/avr-g++ -c -g -Os -w -std=gnu++11 -fpermissive -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -fno-threadsafe-statics -Wno-error=narrowing -flto -w -x c++ -E -CC -mmcu=atmega4809 -DF_CPU=16000000L -DARDUINO=10607 -DARDUINO_AVR_NANO_EVERY -DARDUINO_ARCH_MEGAAVR -DAVR_NANO_4809_328MODE -DMILLIS_USE_TIMERB3 -DNO_EXTERNAL_I2C_PULLUP -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino/api/deprecated -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/variants/nona4809 /Users/jlefevre/Library/Caches/arduino/sketches/3972B4E4E80431322B941CC89968959B/sketch/plane_ride.ino.cpp -o /dev/null
Alternatives for SparkFunSX1509.h: [SX1509 IO Expander@3.0.6]
ResolveLibrary(SparkFunSX1509.h)
  -> candidates: [SX1509 IO Expander@3.0.6]
/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5/bin/avr-g++ -c -g -Os -w -std=gnu++11 -fpermissive -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -fno-threadsafe-statics -Wno-error=narrowing -flto -w -x c++ -E -CC -mmcu=atmega4809 -DF_CPU=16000000L -DARDUINO=10607 -DARDUINO_AVR_NANO_EVERY -DARDUINO_ARCH_MEGAAVR -DAVR_NANO_4809_328MODE -DMILLIS_USE_TIMERB3 -DNO_EXTERNAL_I2C_PULLUP -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino/api/deprecated -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/variants/nona4809 -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src /Users/jlefevre/Library/Caches/arduino/sketches/3972B4E4E80431322B941CC89968959B/sketch/plane_ride.ino.cpp -o /dev/null
Alternatives for Tic.h: [Tic@2.2.0]
ResolveLibrary(Tic.h)
  -> candidates: [Tic@2.2.0]
/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5/bin/avr-g++ -c -g -Os -w -std=gnu++11 -fpermissive -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -fno-threadsafe-statics -Wno-error=narrowing -flto -w -x c++ -E -CC -mmcu=atmega4809 -DF_CPU=16000000L -DARDUINO=10607 -DARDUINO_AVR_NANO_EVERY -DARDUINO_ARCH_MEGAAVR -DAVR_NANO_4809_328MODE -DMILLIS_USE_TIMERB3 -DNO_EXTERNAL_I2C_PULLUP -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino/api/deprecated -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/variants/nona4809 -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Tic /Users/jlefevre/Library/Caches/arduino/sketches/3972B4E4E80431322B941CC89968959B/sketch/plane_ride.ino.cpp -o /dev/null
Alternatives for Wire.h: [Wire@1.0]
ResolveLibrary(Wire.h)
  -> candidates: [Wire@1.0]
/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5/bin/avr-g++ -c -g -Os -w -std=gnu++11 -fpermissive -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -fno-threadsafe-statics -Wno-error=narrowing -flto -w -x c++ -E -CC -mmcu=atmega4809 -DF_CPU=16000000L -DARDUINO=10607 -DARDUINO_AVR_NANO_EVERY -DARDUINO_ARCH_MEGAAVR -DAVR_NANO_4809_328MODE -DMILLIS_USE_TIMERB3 -DNO_EXTERNAL_I2C_PULLUP -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino/api/deprecated -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/variants/nona4809 -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Tic -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/libraries/Wire/src /Users/jlefevre/Library/Caches/arduino/sketches/3972B4E4E80431322B941CC89968959B/sketch/plane_ride.ino.cpp -o /dev/null
/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5/bin/avr-g++ -c -g -Os -w -std=gnu++11 -fpermissive -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -fno-threadsafe-statics -Wno-error=narrowing -flto -w -x c++ -E -CC -mmcu=atmega4809 -DF_CPU=16000000L -DARDUINO=10607 -DARDUINO_AVR_NANO_EVERY -DARDUINO_ARCH_MEGAAVR -DAVR_NANO_4809_328MODE -DMILLIS_USE_TIMERB3 -DNO_EXTERNAL_I2C_PULLUP -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino/api/deprecated -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/variants/nona4809 -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Tic -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/libraries/Wire/src /Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src/SparkFunSX1509.cpp -o /dev/null
/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5/bin/avr-g++ -c -g -Os -w -std=gnu++11 -fpermissive -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -fno-threadsafe-statics -Wno-error=narrowing -flto -w -x c++ -E -CC -mmcu=atmega4809 -DF_CPU=16000000L -DARDUINO=10607 -DARDUINO_AVR_NANO_EVERY -DARDUINO_ARCH_MEGAAVR -DAVR_NANO_4809_328MODE -DMILLIS_USE_TIMERB3 -DNO_EXTERNAL_I2C_PULLUP -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino/api/deprecated -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/variants/nona4809 -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Tic -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/libraries/Wire/src /Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Tic/Tic.cpp -o /dev/null
/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5/bin/avr-g++ -c -g -Os -w -std=gnu++11 -fpermissive -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -fno-threadsafe-statics -Wno-error=narrowing -flto -w -x c++ -E -CC -mmcu=atmega4809 -DF_CPU=16000000L -DARDUINO=10607 -DARDUINO_AVR_NANO_EVERY -DARDUINO_ARCH_MEGAAVR -DAVR_NANO_4809_328MODE -DMILLIS_USE_TIMERB3 -DNO_EXTERNAL_I2C_PULLUP -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino/api/deprecated -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/variants/nona4809 -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Tic -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/libraries/Wire/src /Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/libraries/Wire/src/Wire.cpp -o /dev/null
/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5/bin/avr-g++ -c -g -Os -w -std=gnu++11 -fpermissive -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -fno-threadsafe-statics -Wno-error=narrowing -flto -w -x c++ -E -CC -mmcu=atmega4809 -DF_CPU=16000000L -DARDUINO=10607 -DARDUINO_AVR_NANO_EVERY -DARDUINO_ARCH_MEGAAVR -DAVR_NANO_4809_328MODE -DMILLIS_USE_TIMERB3 -DNO_EXTERNAL_I2C_PULLUP -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino/api/deprecated -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/variants/nona4809 -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Tic -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/libraries/Wire/src /Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/libraries/Wire/src/utility/twi.c -o /dev/null
Generating function prototypes...
/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5/bin/avr-g++ -c -g -Os -w -std=gnu++11 -fpermissive -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -fno-threadsafe-statics -Wno-error=narrowing -flto -w -x c++ -E -CC -mmcu=atmega4809 -DF_CPU=16000000L -DARDUINO=10607 -DARDUINO_AVR_NANO_EVERY -DARDUINO_ARCH_MEGAAVR -DAVR_NANO_4809_328MODE -DMILLIS_USE_TIMERB3 -DNO_EXTERNAL_I2C_PULLUP -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino/api/deprecated -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/variants/nona4809 -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Tic -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/libraries/Wire/src /Users/jlefevre/Library/Caches/arduino/sketches/3972B4E4E80431322B941CC89968959B/sketch/plane_ride.ino.cpp -o /private/var/folders/k2/sh9sq4253qq5x0ryjmpg1jfm0000gn/T/2673276543/sketch_merged.cpp
/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/builtin/tools/ctags/5.8-arduino11/ctags -u --language-force=c++ -f - --c++-kinds=svpf --fields=KSTtzns --line-directives /private/var/folders/k2/sh9sq4253qq5x0ryjmpg1jfm0000gn/T/2673276543/sketch_merged.cpp

Compiling sketch...
/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5/bin/avr-g++ -c -g -Os -w -std=gnu++11 -fpermissive -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -fno-threadsafe-statics -Wno-error=narrowing -MMD -flto -mmcu=atmega4809 -DF_CPU=16000000L -DARDUINO=10607 -DARDUINO_AVR_NANO_EVERY -DARDUINO_ARCH_MEGAAVR -DAVR_NANO_4809_328MODE -DMILLIS_USE_TIMERB3 -DNO_EXTERNAL_I2C_PULLUP -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino/api/deprecated -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/cores/arduino -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/variants/nona4809 -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src -I/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Tic -I/Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/libraries/Wire/src /Users/jlefevre/Library/Caches/arduino/sketches/3972B4E4E80431322B941CC89968959B/sketch/plane_ride.ino.cpp -o /Users/jlefevre/Library/Caches/arduino/sketches/3972B4E4E80431322B941CC89968959B/sketch/plane_ride.ino.cpp.o
In file included from /Users/jlefevre/Desktop/plane_ride/plane_ride.ino:1:0:
/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src/SparkFunSX1509.h:54:2: error: 'TwoWire' does not name a type; did you mean 'TwoWire_h'?
  TwoWire *_i2cPort;
  ^~~~~~~
  TwoWire_h
/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src/SparkFunSX1509.h:106:40: error: 'TwoWire' has not been declared
  uint8_t begin(uint8_t address = 0x3E, TwoWire &wirePort = Wire, uint8_t resetPin = 0xFF);
                                        ^~~~~~~
/Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander/src/SparkFunSX1509.h:106:60: error: 'Wire' was not declared in this scope
  uint8_t begin(uint8_t address = 0x3E, TwoWire &wirePort = Wire, uint8_t resetPin = 0xFF);
                                                            ^~~~
Using library SX1509 IO Expander at version 3.0.6 in folder: /Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SX1509_IO_Expander 
Using library Tic at version 2.2.0 in folder: /Users/jlefevre/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Tic 
Using library Wire at version 1.0 in folder: /Users/jlefevre/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/megaavr/1.8.8/libraries/Wire 
exit status 1

Compilation error: exit status 1

Is there a reason why you do not use 1.8.19 any more?

OK, great. That makes the situation more clear. Now please provide the output from compiling the same sketch on the machine with the "Intel" CPU:

  1. Open the sketch in Arduino IDE.
  2. Select File > Preferences... (or Arduino IDE > Settings... for macOS users) from the Arduino IDE menus.
    The "Preferences" dialog will open.
  3. Check the box next to "Show verbose output during: ☐ compile" in the "Preferences" dialog.
  4. Click the "OK" button.
    The "Preferences" dialog will close.
  5. Select Sketch > Verify/Compile from the Arduino IDE menus.
  6. Wait for the compilation to finish.
  7. Right click on the black "Output" panel at the bottom of the Arduino IDE window.
    A context menu will open.
  8. Select Copy All from the menu.
  9. Open a reply here on this forum topic by clicking the "Reply" button.
  10. Click the <CODE/> icon on the post composer toolbar.
    This will add the forum's code block markup (```) to your reply to make sure the error messages are correctly formatted.
  11. Press the Ctrl+V keyboard shortcut (Command+V for macOS users).
    This will paste the compilation output into the code block.
  12. Move the cursor outside of the code block markup before you add any additional text to your reply.
  13. Click the "Reply" button to publish the post.