Transistor Controlled Fan

Hi,

Im trying to use a transistor controlled by an arduino to regulate the power supply to a 12V fan. I copied an existing diagram however my results are a little unusual. Regardless of the signal from the arduino the fan is always spinning, receiving ~5V of the 12V input, i.e. whether the purple wire in the attached images is connected or not makes no difference.

The fan is an f14 Arctic, and the transistor is a BD681 TO126.

Im not an electrical expert as this is part of my CompSci post grad so any thoughts on A) getting the fan 12V of power with the transistor in the circuit. and B) Why the arduino signal is making no difference - would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Screenshot_1.png

Jaeka2:
whether the purple wire in the attached images ...

... don't see an attached image :frowning:

Meanwhile, check again that you have it wired to the pin you are controlling.

Yours,
TonyWilk

It's hard to tell from your pictures.

[u]Here is a schematic[/u] for a transistor driver circuit. (It shows a solenoid but it will also work with a motor.)

The diode protects the transistor from back-EMF and the resistor prevents excess current flow from the Arduino.

P.S.
Check the datasheet for your transistor to identify the physical base, emitter, and collector pins, and make sure the transistor is connected properly. If the transistor is connected properly and the motor runs with no connection (or no voltage) to the base, the transistor is blown (internally shorted).

Thanks the help so far, I think it is relating to the specification of the equipment im using. The fan generates significant resistance and consequently the voltage of the circuit is lowered too much with the transistor I have been using in place. With a 12V supply (transformed from mains), and a 12V fan, what specification transistor would I need for the fan to use up to ~12V?

This is exactly the same problem as here:

https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=516719.0