Trying to Make a Bi-directional visitor counter

Good Day!

I’m still new in arduino programming but always try my best to learn something new.

Currently I am trying to make a bi-directional visitor counter using an Arduino Uno and 2 pieces of ultra sonic sensor (HC-SR04). I have managed to make an initial code for my project and manage to make it slightly work. My problem is that sometimes the total visitor/ guest doesn’t increase nor decrease. I am suspecting that there are flaws in my codes. I tried troubleshooting using the serial monitor and I think that the problem is at this part of my control structure.

int control_1 = 0, control_2 = 0;
int oldcontrol_1 = 0, oldcontrol_2 = 0;
int total = 0;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop()
{
//PERSON ENTERS THE ROOM

if (d_1 <= 48)
  {
    control_1 = 1;
  }
  else control_1 = 0;
  if (control_1 != oldcontrol_1)
  {
    sensor(trig_2, echo_2, d_2);
    if (d_2 <= 48)
    {
      control_2 = 1;
    } else control_2 = 0;
    if (control_2 != oldcontrol_2)
    {
      total = total + 1;
    }
  }
}

So if the first if statement is true, control_1’s value becomes 1 right? So by observing the results from the serial monitor when the first if statement becomes true and control_1 = 1 and what should happen next is that the next if statement is executed because the condition becomes true right? Now what my conclusion on why the total count of visitors/ guests does not increase because once the first if statement becomes false count_1 now has the value of 0.

What I am thinking of next as a solution for my problem is to know when was the two sensor active. For example if a person enters the room. Sensor 1 was active last 1 second and sensor 2 was active last 0.5 second so “if sensor1lastActivetime > seonsor2lastActivetime then the total count of the visitor should increase” and vice versa for exit.