Trying to understand assembly code

I'm very new to using assembly code and having some trouble understanding what this code is doing and how it works. I sort of understand the first few lines of code but I have no clue what the "brne delay" is doing, if someone could give a run down of what this code is doing it would be much appreciated!

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
asm("sbi 0x04, 5");
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
asm("start:");
asm("sbi 0x05, 5");
asm("ldi r16,40 \n\t rcall delay");
asm("cbi 0x05, 5");
asm("ldi r16,40 \n\t rcall delay");
asm("rjmp start");

asm("delay:");
asm("dec r8");
asm("brne delay");
asm("dec r9");
asm("brne delay");
asm("dec r16");
asm("brne delay");
asm("ret");
}

dec decrements the values held in those registers. It sets the zero flag if the result is 0.
brne is a conditional branch that is taken only if the zero flag is not set - and if it is, they go back to the delay label. decrementing the register that was previously 0 makes it roll over. First part of the delay happens 256 times for each time that the second part does, and the second part happens 256 times per

So it's a delay based on the contents of r16... (which gets set to 0x40), working out to 4.2 million passes through the delay, and hence like... a second or so?

Ranch if not equal

If the Z flag is not zero, jump to delay

KeithRB:
Ranch if not equal

If the Z flag is not zero, jump to delay

The text of the instruction description: Tests the Zero flag (Z) and branches relatively to PC if Z is cleared. Meaning, the result of a previous instruction was Not Equal to zero.

The BREQ - branch (relative) if equal - Tests the Zero flag (Z) and branches relatively to PC if Z is set. Meaning the result of a previous instruction was EQual to zero.