Ultrasonic distance sensor to activate 2 servo motors

Hey,

I’m trying to code an ultrasonic distance sensor to activate 2 servo motors when the distance measured is less than 50 cm. So far I can get the readings right but the motors don’t move. Does this code look ok to you? Is something wrong with it?

I can make everything work separately… Make the motors move without the sensor… The problem is that once I try to put everything together, they stop moving :confused:

This is my first time trying to do something with Arduino on my own, so I apologize in advance if the problem is super easy to solve and I just couldn’t figure it out x)

#include <Servo.h>
#define pingPin 7
int oldCm = 0;
int threshold = 50;
int pos = 0;
Servo servoBottom;
Servo servoTop;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {

long duration, cm;

pinMode(pingPin, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(pingPin, LOW);
  delayMicroseconds(2);
  digitalWrite(pingPin, HIGH);
  delayMicroseconds(5);
  digitalWrite(pingPin, LOW);

pinMode(pingPin, INPUT);
  duration = pulseIn(pingPin, HIGH);
  cm = microsecondsToCentimeters(duration);

if (cm  != oldCm){
  Serial.println(cm);
  oldCm = cm;
  }

delay(100);

if(cm < threshold){
    for (pos = 0; pos <= 100; pos += 1) {
      servoBottom.write(pos);
      delay(7);
      servoTop.write(pos);
      delay(7);}
  }
}

long microsecondsToCentimeters(long microseconds) {
  return microseconds / 29 / 2;
}

Cheers!

You don’t appear to be doing anything (useful) with oldCm. So, why does it even exist?

Do you get a value in cm that is less than 50?

How are the servos powered?

I’m trying to code an ultrasonic distance sensor to activate 2 servo motors when the distance measured is less than 50 cm. So far I can get the readings right but the motors don’t move. Does this code look ok to you? Is something wrong with it?

Sorry, but I don’t watch your code.

You must check this:

1. http://playground.arduino.cc/Code/NewPing