Understanding this photoresistor circuit

I am quite new to Arduino and I wanted to try to make a night light using a photoresistor, and while I understand the coding part of it perfectly I had to look up how to set up the circuit and this one confused me, specifically how the photoresistor itself is wired. I set it up exactly like it did in the diagram and it works just as it should, but I don’t understand why it works. I was under the impression that electricity wants to get to ground as soon as it can, so why would the A0 pin be connected passed the ground connection? So the 5v runs through the photoresistor which then resists the current depending on how much light there is, but then instead of it being set up so that the current flows to the A0 pin and then ground, they have it so that it flows to ground first then the A0 pin. Why would the electricity bother going to the A0 pin if it could just go straight to ground?

The photoresistor and 10K resistor are set up as a voltage divider. Pin A0 is most likely being used as an analog input sensing the voltage level of the voltage divider. With photoresistors the resistance decreases as the light level increases, causing the voltage divider to output a higher voltage, towards +5. The analog circuitry behind pin A0 converts the voltage level to a digital number going from 0 - 255. Somewhere in the sketch this number is compared to several parameters set up to decide when to switch the LED on or off.

In a voltage divider current is always flowing through it unless one of the elements’ resistance goes to infinity (open circuit) at which point the divider output will assume the voltage of the leg with the lesser resistance. If the resistance of both members is equal then the divider will output one half of the applied voltage.