UNO, USB, TX/RX and SCL/SDA

Hi!
I have been doing real time programming for many years, more than 40, and now I putting my nose into it again because of the easyness in using stuff like UNO and all available shields instead of wire wrapping everthing myself.

The environment is new to me. Can You sort out the things for me about the communication options available using an UNO?

There is the use of the USB connector and "Serial monitor" and I use it for debugging info. Looking at the UNO board I see "RX/TX" printed at the location of digital in-/out- put D0 resp. D1. It looks obvious that D0/D1 can not be used for digital I/O at the same time as serial communication is used on TX/RX.

Then there is the I2C using SCL and SDA. I find them near the USB connector but I feel I have seen videos using A0 and A1 for them. Can You sort this out for me? Is SCL/SDA hard wired to A0/A1?

Is it possible to communicate to/from an UNO on 3 different channels, USB, TX/RX and I2C?

Regards,
Railroader

The TX/RX pins of the MCU are permanently connected to the USB<>Serial chip, so best not to use them for anything else, unless you know what you’re doing. You can always use some software Serial code on another set of pins.
If you need more/faster Serial, then move to e.g. a Mega with it’s three extra hardware serial channels.
The I2C pins on an Uno are A4 and A5, and are duplicated (exactly the same) near the Aref pin for compatibility.
Google e.g “Arduino Uno pinout” (images).
Leo…

1. Please check if the following diagram provides you some information as to the role/use of various IO lines of the ATmega328P MCU of the UNO Board for exchanging data with peripheral devices and sensors.

Figure-1: Hardware Block Diagram of ATmega328P MCU showing data exchange

2. Please check if the following diagram can help you finding the wiring level connection between the UART Port (hardware) of the MCU and the Serial Monitor.

Figure-2: Connection between UART Port and Serial Monitor