Upgrading my grandmother's adjustable bed

I'm looking at trying to repair my grandmother's adjustable bed, the problem is, she lost the remote control for it, what I'm hoping to do is to make her a new one, as well as the receiver and make it so that when she hits a button the the motor one the bed kicks in and adjusts the bed for her. I've never used an arduino before but from all my research, it seems like the best way to go about doing this. If you guys could help, that would be AWESOME!!!!

Sadly your post is so devoid of details that it is impossible to help. What bed? What brand controller? What does it look like? Are there any specs? Is there a photo? Is it radio controlled, use a wire, or use infra-red?

I'm practically making a new bed, I was trying to figure out what the best way to get it all work. About the only thing that I plan on keeping the same would probably be the motor. I'm actually not at her place right now, so I don't know really any of the specs, I know it's for a twin size bed. I'll know more around Christmas.

PimpDaddySmurf:
I'm practically making a new bed, I was trying to figure out what the best way to get it all work. About the only thing that I plan on keeping the same would probably be the motor. I'm actually not at her place right now, so I don't know really any of the specs, I know it's for a twin size bed. I'll know more around Christmas.

I own an old adjustable hospital bed that uses AC linear actuators; one motor adjusts the tilt of the head/back, and the other adjusts the tilt/level of the feet and legs.

I suspect that your grandmother's bed is similar, in that it uses one or more motors to control the functions.

So - you would first want to identify what kind of motors you have - whether you have AC or DC motors, and what their current and voltage ratings are.