Use transistor to control 12v LEDs, schematic help needed

Hi!
I’m new to Arduino (Haven’t actually gotten it yet, but it’s on it’s way) and i’m about to prepare for a project.
I’ve been developing app for all kinds of platforms for year (Windows, Android/Linus, iOS, web)
but I’m having problem with the electronics.
I friend of mine loves LEDs. He got them all over his car, but now he’s getting tired of having several controll-units
and not being able to sync all the lights.
So i want to make him a new unit, where he can connect lights and switch between patterns.

So, the idea is that each set of LEDs will be connected via a transistor (I’ve been looking at the tip122) so I can control them via the Arduino. I’ve been a simple schematic, but I’m not sure the i’ve done the math right.
I’m not even sure that the Arduino can control, lets say 6x tip122 at the same time.
If not, can i use something like a 2N2222 to control the TiP122 and let my Arduino control the 2N2222?
That would have to be one 2N2222 per TiP122 of course.

I’ve attached an image of the schematic and the math.
If you have any questions or tips/ideas on how to make it better. Please don’t hesitate to reply :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance

That maths is wrong. The base current will be 5v the output voltage of the arduino, minus 0.7Vthe voltage across the base of a transistor divided by the value of R1. Hfe is the current gain you get from the data sheet.

Collector to emitter current is Hfe times the base current. Power dissaapated in the transistor is the saturation voltage in the data sheet, times the collector emitter current.

Thanks for the fast reply :) hm, i see. Can you help me with the math? :) This is some of the info from the Tip122 data sheet:

Transistor Polarity: NPN

Voltage(Vceo): 100V

Power(Pd): 2W

Collector Current: 5A

DC Current Gain(hFE): 1000

Package Type: TO-220

Pins: 3

Power Consumption: 2W

Device Marking: TIP122

Package Type: TO-220

Total Power(Ptot): 65W