Using 60 W car speakers

Hello everyone,

I have a pair of old car speakers lying about, so I wondered if it's possible to connect them to the arduino (I'm using Uno) to play mp3 music files. I couldn't find any information about connecting speakers with more than 5 W though. On the back of the speakers it says:

hi-fi coaxial three-way bridgeless construction
Peak power 60 watts
impedance 4 ohms

I'm an electronics newbie and frankly speaking I don't even understand why there's no voltage specification. Does that mean the speakers are fine with any voltage and I can connect them via the arduino? Could I connect an amplifier (GPD2846A) that's recommended for 4 ohm and 3 W speakers?
Is there a problem because the speakers are meant for AC?
Or am I missing something important about speaker physics?

I'm sorry for the basic questions but I think I'm missing some knowledge to succesfully search the internet. I appreciate any answers that help me not to fry my board :slight_smile:

You do need an amplifier.

…The “absolute maximum” current directly from an Arduino is 40mA with 20mA the “recommended maximum”. Knowing 5V at 40mA we can use [u]Ohm’s law[/u] to calculate 5V / 0.040A = 125 Ohms minimum. With lower resistance/impedance you’ll get excess current and "bad things’ can happen.

The wattage rating on a speaker is the maximum recommended amplifier power. It’s OK to use a lower power amplifier. Speaker power ratings are a little “fuzzy” and often they “fudge” the specs. A 60W speaker is supposed to handle occasional 60W peaks… You can fry a 60W speaker with constant 60W test tones and with a 2 or 3-way speaker the tweeter can’t handle as much power as the woofer…

(GPD2846A) that’s recommended for 4 ohm and 3 W speakers?
Is there a problem because the speakers are meant for AC?

Regular audio signals are always AC. :wink:

I don’t even understand why there’s no voltage specification.