Using an I2c 128x64 LCD

I’m new to Arduino (worked with BASIC Stamp and Pic microcontrollers in the past). I’m wondering just how much work is required to set up a 128x64 single color OLED display. If I’m understanding correctly all I have to do is download a library with my display’s info on it and that handles setting up the display in a couple simple lines of code so all I really have to do is code which pixels are on and when. Is this correct? The basic stamp and pic’s don’t have anything that resembles a library and I have to code it all out manually. I’ve seen commands like “DefineScreen” used a lot that I wouldn’t have had access to. These are provided by the library, correct? The display I’m looking at: Amazon.com: HiLetgo 1.3" IIC I2C Serial 128x64 SSH1106 SSD1306 OLED LCD Display LCD Module for Arduino AVR PIC STM32: Industrial & Scientific

The microcontroller I plan to use: Amazon.com: FTCBlock Pro Micro ATmega32U4 5V/16MHz Module Board with 2 Row pin Header for arduino Leonardo Replace ATmega328 Pro Mini (1pcs): Industrial & Scientific

Rudyauction509:
Is this correct?

More or less. The first thing you need to do is run a couple demo programmes that are surely included in the library. That way you will get a better understanding of what happens next.

Note that several libraries can probably work with that display. The Nano, and practically any other Arduino, will be fine with it.

Awesome. I’ll jump on the parts in a few days and give it a shot. I just remember it being a nightmare getting one of these going on the basic stamp. Took up over half the memory to initialize the display and display one image.

Rudyauction509:
. I just remember it being a nightmare getting one of these going on the basic stamp.

No surprise to hear that. I found Arduino so much easier.