Using wire to send strings of numbers and letters from one uno to another

Hello all,

I'm New to programming with an arduino, my background is Visual Basic. I'm Trying to get to uno's to talk to each other through the wire, I can send text strings back-and-forth fine but when I include numbers in the strings it just locks. Do I have to convert them to a character array and then send them one byte at a time or is there another way? Thanks Stuart

Which wire do you use? Maybe you tell use what connections you have between the two Arduinos and post both sketches so we know a bit about what you're doing.

If you mean "Wire", as in "I2C", you should use the write function just once in the interrupt routine. Transmit a structure or array with just one "write" if you need to transmit more data. I read about improvements with that, but I don't know if they are in the current version Arduino 1.0.5. http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/MasterReader If you mean serial UART data with the "Serial" library, that is a "Stream" class with many possibilities. http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/Stream

I'm using the wire.write and also have tried the wire.print . I can include my code later when I get home , but the master write is the example I started with .. Hope that helps

I'm using the wire.write and also have tried the wire.print . I can include my code later when I get home , but the master write is the example I started with .

So you're using the Wire library. "The wire" is not a clear indication that you're talking about a library that's called "Wire". BTW, Wire is started uppercase and case is relevant in C/C++.

Using I2C you need code on the master and code on the slave and the two are not identical. So please post both sketches. And also post a wiring diagram how you connected the two Arduinos, include every wire.

When the string, test_key, is all text it transmits fine and the second uno receives the data…

test_key = "test";