VGA: External crystal to indicate pixel clock

Hello all,

Recently, I could generate successfully a 640x480 @70Hz via Mega 2560. I do not focus on pixel information, but on the stable V and H sync. That works good (time to time a small glitch... but it's ok).
The thing is, that code is very tight to current processor speed, full of NOPs and adjustments on calculations according to the standard definition of that particular resolution, so not the best thing in the world and I want to code this properly.

I thought that having an external crystal oscillator at the proper frequency could solve the problem, so I got a few, and tried to connect one of them.
The system is basically:
+3.3 -> Crystal -> Input Pin (2) with attachInterrupt on CHANGE.

The problem is... the ISR is not being fired. I am not an expert in electronics, obviously, so I googled a lot about how to plug crystals into circuits, but not much information about specific details (i.e. you need a resistor blahblah...).

So, basically, I would love if somebody could help me out understanding how a crystal needs to be connected to the Arduino to successfully be able to get its pulses.

Thank you.

A link to what you bought would be a big help. There are crystal oscillators in metal cans and there are just crystals in metal cans. Each can have three leads. Most crystals have two leads, but the can may have a ground wire.

A crystal is NOT and oscillator. An oscillator requires feedback to produce oscillations. The crystal allows oscillations on just one frequency, usually. You do not supply any feedback to the crystal.

I am sure you Googled crystal oscillator. Did you find a circuit that looks like what you described?

Paul

What is the frequency of your "crystal"?

Hi,

thank you for the quick replies. The exact name of what I bought (on ebay) is "15 Mhz HC49/4H crystal HC49S xtal Oscillator", here the link: