Walkie-Talkie project

Hi guys,

Im a developer and wanted to try something different. I've never worked with electronic stuff before (despite university) but feel like giving it a shot.

What I want to do is to build a walkie-talkie using Arduino Due/Mega.
I would like to plug the board into my PC and through my mic I would send audio messages (using radio transmitter in my board) and with a walkie-talkie I would like to hear it.

I have few pieces of walkie-talkies handy that I know can communicate in a good range (1 kilometer) so my arduino transmitter/receiver should work with that range too.

Using the boards I've described, how can I integrate such thing? Walkie-talkies usually uses 460-473mhz frequency so do I need to plug any shield in my board?

I need to get the power through my USB (computer) so I can't use more power than a USB can supply. My walkie-talkies uses a 4.5v battery so I don't think that will be a problem as I can power 5v in my boards.

So bottom of line, here's my project:
. Speaks something in my mic (computer)
. Send the audio through USB to my arduino board.
. Arduino will send it through radio frequency (I will specify the channel/frequency).
. Walkie-talkie at other side will be able to listen to the message.
. Walkie-talkie will respond with an audio message.
. Arduino will get the message through radio and send back through USB to my computer.
. The audio will be played through my speakers.

I really appreciate any help. :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance.

Walkie-talkies usually uses 460-473mhz frequency so do I need to plug any shield in my board?

The Arduino isn’t a radio. So, if you need a radio (transmitter and/or receiver), you’ll need extra hardware.

How? As audio data that the Arduino can’t handle, or as digital data? Serial data transfer, even at 115200, may be too slow to get voice quality data from the PC to the Arduino.

. Arduino will send it through radio frequency (I will specify the channel/frequency).