Water pump controller for car

Hi,

I am quite new at Arduino and electronic design but have made some sensors based on Arduino. Then I got the idea to replace the current digital controller for the water pump I have in my sportscar since that behave strangely.
Therefore I would be very happy to get help, ideas and feedback on the design.

Current Implementation
The current controller I have have the logic/functionality implemented as described in the diagram below. The “set point” is the wanted temperature, e.g. 90 degree Celsius (C).
Also not mentioned in diagram it also run the pump for 2 minutes or until the temperature is 5 degree C below “set point” (and fan if needed) after the engine was shutdown.

New Design
I plan to base the new design on Arduino ProMini together with a pump voltage controller Pololu High-Power Motor Driver 36v15 and a relay card for the fan. The Arduino will be powered via a Pololu Step-Down Voltage Regulator D15V35F5S3. Current temperature will be read from the sensor used today.

https://picasaweb.google.com/106250146660492391085/NeoZeven#5999245036199945874

Questions (as of today :slight_smile: )

• Do you think the design is correct so far? (any feedback is welcome)

• Running the pump after engine shutdown and wake up ?

• Programatically it should not be any problem to run the controller/pump until the wanted temperature is reached and then put it to sleep

• How can I wake up the controller from sleep when ignition key enter +15 (as described in diagram)?

Do you need to run the pump in reverse? If not a MOSFET may replace the motor driver.

groundfungus: Do you need to run the pump in reverse? If not a MOSFET may replace the motor driver.

No I don't need to reverse the pump but I already have the motor driver on the shelf ...