Wearable reminder device

I'm attempting to build a wearable device that will be turned on and off with a button/break in the circuit, vibrate indefinitely at the end of a timer, say 3 minutes (although eventually this would be defined by analog user input) and a button press during the vibration restarts the cycle.

Unfortunately, I have never used arduino before. I know what I want to do, but lack the knowledge to implement it. Any help from the forum community would be well appreciated!

This is for a collaborative project between industrial design majors and occupational therapy majors, and could potentially be given to a client to help with their challenges.

So far, I have gotten a cell phone motor to vibrate on a set interval, with this code:

const int motorPin = 3;

void setup()
{
pinMode(motorPin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
digitalWrite(motorPin, HIGH);
delay(1000);
digitalWrite(motorPin, LOW);
delay(59000);
}

I'm somewhat lost after this though, considering using the "timer" or "delay" commands, but I just do not know enough on my own.

Thanks for any help!

I'm not quite sure I completely understand what you're asking. But from what I see, if you're trying to make a break in the circuit, I guess you could just add a switch between the battery terminal and the arduino you use.

I don't know if you can add a delay in the setup though? Otherwise you might be able to do something like:

const int motorPin = 3;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(motorPin, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(motorPin, LOW);
  delay(180000);
}

void loop()
{
  digitalWrite(motorPin, HIGH);
}

If it helps I recommend going through some of these:
http://oomlout.com/a/products/ardx/

There very easy to do, and fairly easy to understand how things work and what you do to use what. For example the delay functions and motors.

I probably wasn't very clear, so I'll try and outline my goal a bit better: