Web controlled project

Hi,

I am new to all this but have a project in mind and am trying to way up the best way to go about it. I want to make a web controlled aquarium controller.

The idea is that every aquarium process is automated from the device, and can also be controlled over the web.

I want to take temperature, orp and ph readings and log them.
Control the pump (with the ability to stop the pump for 5 minutes for feeding)
Control the lights on a scheduled basis and with manual control.
I want a web cam that can be viewed over the web.
Control the temperature and switch off the heater when the pump is off for feeding.
Control pumps and valves for automated water changes.

I want some processes to run on the board constantly e.g. controlling the lights, but I also want a web interface that will allow me to preform tasks and monitor the aquarium remotely.

I would appreciate if you could advise me on what hardware I would need to do this, I have seen phidgets sbc and some of their addon modules, I wanted to know if there is an alternative and whether arduino would be better and cheaper?

An important point is like the phidget sbc I don't want to have a pc running constantly, I want the board connected directly to the network via wireless or ethernet cable. Also ideal I would be able to write my programmes directly to the chip via usb.

Also can you direct me or advise me on the summarised steps to programming both the avr to control the project (including if this can be done on the board like the phidgets or how I would go about flashing the chip). And how I would go about creating a web interface? (software required etc)

My programming ability is currently limited to vb but the idea behind the project is to start learning C#.

I hope you can give me some advice.

Thanks in advance,

Andy

I think to have the webcam, I think your pc would have to be online all the time.