Weird scale rs232 reading with Arduino UNO

Hi there,
I am absolute newbie in Arduino and electronics; I have checked a lot of entries in the forum and tried many things, but I still have no solution to my simple problem.
I have an Arduino UNO rev 3. I want to use Arduino to read the weight form a scale, and some other parameters from sensors, to perform operations and get some results.
When pressing a button in the scale, let’s call it “send” button, the scale sends the weight as rs232 (9600/8/N/1) using 14 Bytes. I have bought a sparkfun shield for adapting the rs232 voltage levels to TTL (SparkFun RS232 Shifter - SMD - PRT-00449 - SparkFun Electronics).
I have also taken pieces of code for reading the scale, adding a delay of 100 ms for checking purposes.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#define rxPin 2
#define txPin 3

SoftwareSerial balanza = SoftwareSerial(rxPin, txPin); // RX, TX

char x;

void setup()  
{
  pinMode(rxPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(txPin, OUTPUT);

Serial.begin(19200);
  Serial.println("Goodnight moon!");
  balanza.begin(9600);
 }

void loop() // run over and over
{
    if (balanza.available()) {
    int test = balanza.available();
    Serial.print(test);
    x = balanza.read();
    Serial.print(x); //this produces a series of countdown numbers and readings, only for checking purposes
    }
  delay(100);

}

GND connected to GND. Rx pin (pin 2) connected to Tx of the shield. Tx pin (pin 3) connected to Rx of the shield. VCC is not connected following the scale’s manual. However, I have also tried connecting 5V and 3.3V to VCC, with little differences.
Having everything in place, when pressing the “send” button of the scale, what I obtain is the following:

[MODIFIED: removed “Goodnight moon!” becase I don’t get it when I press “send”; I get "Goodnight moon!"when I open the Serial Monitor, which is OK]
“14ÿ13ÿ12ÿ11ÿ10ÿ9ÿ8ÿ7ÿ6ÿ5ÿ4ÿ3ÿ2ÿ1ÿ”

14 and the countdown numbers are OK since it tells the number of Bytes of the message (balanza.available()).