What can I do to change the turning direction of a DC motor automatically?

It may be the most stupid question you have seen,as I am a rookie.(already fall on your knees :fearful:)

If I got a DC motor like in the video

What can I do to let the DC motor changes its turning direction automatically after a few seconds so to form a loop?
And what stuffs do I need?

(fall on your knees again.)

You need what's called an H-bridge, and there are a number of chips and chips on boards that do that.

The oldest and best known are the L293 and L298, Google those, and there are loads of motor driver chips of differing voltage and current specs here at Pololu.

edit.... also look here in the Playground.

This method won’t work with the motor in the video, but if you got a motor that can run on the arduino I/O pins, this little bit of code i wrote will work:

(you need to create variables for pin3 and pin4 and then use pinMode(pin3, OUTPUT); pinMode(pin4, OUTPUT); in the setup)

boolean flip = false;

void step() {
      if(flip) {
      digitalWrite(pin3, HIGH);
      digitalWrite(pin4, LOW);
    } else {
      digitalWrite(pin3, LOW);
      digitalWrite(pin4, HIGH);
    }
  flip = !flip;
}

I copied this from a massive program i wrote so it might not work, but i could fix it if you told me the error.

all you need to do is call the ‘step();’ method in your loop after a delay and it will switch directions.
Your motor MUST be able to handle the voltage and amperage an arduino provides, but most DC motors can to my knowledge.

superslimeboy:
if you got a motor that can run on the arduino I/O pins, this little bit of code i wrote will work:
Your motor MUST be able to handle the voltage and amperage an arduino provides, but most DC motors can to my knowledge.

On the contrary.... very few motors will consume as little as 40mA which is max an i/o pin can provide, 20-30 rather for safety.

You really don't want to do it this way, it's asking to pop something.

Use an h-bridge,.