Where do i supposed to ground my cable shield?

I'm new in electronic and started a weather station project that send data via RS-485, the shield in cable that connect weather station need to be grounded, i wanted to ask shall i ground it to my microcontroller GND or the earth ground, and why?

thanks before :)

https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=653831.0

ktannady: I'm new in electronic and started a weather station project that send data via RS-485, the shield in cable that connect weather station need to be grounded, i wanted to ask shall i ground it to my microcontroller GND or the earth ground, and why?

thanks before :)

Welcome to the Arduino forum. There are sticky posts that tell you why a ground is important and sometimes necessary for your project to work properly.

A shield is only a shield if ONE end is connected to the ground or common connection used by your project. If both ends are connected, it becomes a conductor, not a shield. I hope your RS-485 cable has a separate wire that connects the grounds at each end for RS-485.

Your weather station should ultimately have a real earth ground through the power supply connected to the mains power. But if not, should still operate ok.

Paul

If it is outside be sure the shield (drain) is connected to earth ground only at one end the other open. When you get sparks in the sky guess where they want to go and how they will get there. EMI will die when buried in the ground as well. I can only guess as I do not know what it looks like or where it is going to be mounted. I did all my outside sensors wireless so that eliminated the problem with sky sparks blowing stuff up but it still causes communication interruptions.

Idahowalker: https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=653831.0