Whole home is wired

Hello everybody.

I am a software engineer just barely starting with Arduino. I’ve been through a journey of building a house. From start, i wanted to automate all lighting and other stuff as alarms and garate gate.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have much time to decide exactly what technology I’d use, but I followed a guide I found online to have everything pretty much ready to be automated.

What I did following the guide is preparing all wall outlets to use push buttons, mmeaning to use relays. So I have one phase bus crossing all outlets and every button has a dedicated wire retuning to the central. The lamp wires also all get down to this same central. That was a lot of wiring that almost made my electrician crazy.

Everything looked good in theory, as I’d have signals to drive relays. Although now thinking further about what I really want to accomplish, I feel I may not have all the flexibility I’d like. For example, I want to be able to program what outlet turns what light, also to be able to detect things as double clicks to have different lighting scenes, maybe holding the push button to control a few dimmers would also be nice. So clearly the simple relay setup wouldn’t be enough.

I am little bit stuck on where to start. It seems I could have ac phase detectors for wall wallets and the software would drive the light relays or dimmer, but having one for each push button could make all very much expensive… as I have a lot of them. Also thought about feeding the outlets with a 12v bus… not sure.

Any thoughts about what I should go for? All I have is a lot of wiring atm.

Thank you

You added 1 wire to each outlet or did you add 2 wires?

Hello every switch is like a doorbell one wire return only.

For example, with a double switch I have:

Incoming: One phase, one neutron (not realy needed, but is there)

Outcome: two wires (one per switch)

I don't get it. Please provide a schematic and/or photo.