Why do my LED's dim and voltage drop when flashing at high speed?

Hello community, this is my first time here so i apologize if i do anything incorrectly. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Firstly when it comes to Arduino and electronics in general there is still a lot i don't understand but the projects i work on i try my best to learn as much as i can on my own. That being said, i have hit a wall of sorts and don't understand what exactly is happening.

GOAL: My ultimate goal is to power multiple home made LED strips that will stay lit for a full 24 hours running off of as small a battery that i can use. Eventually it will be used to light up plants i'll be growing indoors. I understand it would be a lot easier to just buy led lamps, plug it in and call it a day but i enjoy solving problems too much to do that :p

Parts: Arduino UNO 2k resistors (x8) S8050 NPN transistors (x4) 3.3v 20mA SMD 3528 white LED (x20) DC-DC Step-down Constant Current Regulator Module

What i'm trying to do: I currently have 20 LED's set up in a strip i made and wired together in groups of five. For the time being i'm using a laptop power supply that puts out 19.5v at 3.6 amps. That is being pushed through the current regulator to put out a steady 16v at 20mA. At 16v and 20mA i can power 5 LED at a time in series but that's not enough to power the eventual 80 LED strips that will be used. The conclusion that i came to in the end was, I didn't need to power them all at the same time. I could keep the output the same but switch from LED group to LED group really fast to the point they all seemed to be on at the same time so only one group of 5 LED is ever powered on at a time. This way i get the most light usage possible from the least amount of power possible(again my goal is to make this all use as little power as possible).