Wireless project signal

Hello, Im new to Arduino and actually I have no idea as to where should I post this question, so I figure out the general topic would be best. I have tried searching the internet for the answers but I cant because I think I do not know what to search for. So here's my problem, I have a few switches which switch a few applications mechanically. Now what I want to do is that I want to be able to switch those applications on and off from my Android tablet. For example I have a circuit which have three switches, each controlling a motor, a bulb and a buzzer for instance. And now instead of using the mechanical switches, I want to hook the switches to a board(arduino required?), which then can transmit wifi signal. Then using an Android tablet, I want to connect to the wifi and then launch application and control the switches from the application. As for the Android app, I could write it myself as I can code in Java. The problem is that I do not know what component to broadcast a wifi signal and how do I actually set it up. Is it a radio receiver? I believe there must have been people who already done this kind of projects. I would be happy if someone could point me to a project details or somewhat similar. Thanks a lot and much appreciated.

Well, from my understanding,you just need a wifi module on your arduino board.
Try to search "arduino wifi" and I believe there are many candidates which can fits your program

To accomplish your project, generally there will be two ways

1.The most simple way is that both arduino wifi and tablet act like wifi clilent. And you can using a router to connect these two things. In tablet application layer, you can write something like socket to commnuniate with your arduino board with specific command format you designed.

2.make the arduino wifi as the AP, and let the tablet to connect with it. Then you do not need another another third party device to do the commnuication