Word Processing Program

Hello everyone,

I got my first Arduino last week and have come up with the project of creating a word processor. I've created a github repo to host the code. Keep in mind that I've never written in C before, so parts of this may be done inproperly. I actually haven't tested this version of the code yet, I have to wait until this evening, however the compiler didn't show any errors. (GitHub link at end of post)

I will post photos of the current (very rudimentary) setup this evening.

If anyone has any advice, I'm looking forward to hearing it. I hope to be an active and helpful member of this forum as I gain experience here. Thanks!

-Chris

GitHub Repo:

https://github.com/cgpurbaugh/ARDOWRITER

What Arduino are you using?

With 2k of SRAM on an Uno there is not much room for wordprocessing.

…R

Robin2:
What Arduino are you using?

With 2k of SRAM on an Uno there is not much room for wordprocessing.

...R

It's a Mega 2560 R3

Even 8k is not a lot, when you’ve got program variables as well as text.

You are bound to learn a great deal!

jremington:
You are bound to learn a great deal!

LOL

...R

So, I've been able to get the program working somewhat. It will open a file, you can write to it, and it saves as you write.

I've not yet added the ability to create multiple files, but I doubt that will be too difficult.

if (cursorVertical = 1) {

Ooops.

Pete

el_supremo:

if (cursorVertical = 1) {

Ooops.

Pete

What’s the oops?

if (cursorVertical = 1) {Assign ('=') vs compare ('==')

From a casual glance at the code, it appears that the "delete key" function overwrites the previously typed character on the LCD display with a blank, but doesn't actually delete the last character input. It had already been output to the SD card, so an actual delete action is no longer possible.

To delete input characters before committing to output requires at least a line buffer.

AWOL: