X25 stepper motor

Hi everybody…
I’m very new in the arduino world and already in trouble :0
I got me couple of X25 motors, and connected them to the output 8,9,10,11…
the motor initialize perfectly generally does what I ask for, but… I’m trying to do a simple thing, once the board is activated, I got the motor to home, then I wish (but as of now is just a wish) to do a sweep to the end of the stroke and back to zero, but I’m not able to do such a thing.
Funny thing is that if the command: Serial.println(jmax); is active, then I got the sweep even if very slow, but if I remove that line, the software ignore everything and behave as jmax is already passed 3000.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

here is the code that I wrote:

#include “SwitecX25.h”

SwitecX25 motor2(315*3, 8,9,10,11);
int jmax=0;

void setup(void) {
Serial.begin(9600);
motor2.zero();
}

void loop() {
int pos;
if (jmax>=0 && jmax<900) motor2.setPosition(900);
if (jmax>=950 && jmax<2000) motor2.setPosition(0);
if (jmax>3000)
{
pos=random(350,550);
motor2.setPosition(pos);
}

// Serial.println(jmax);
motor2.update();
jmax=jmax++;
}

For completeness is this the motor you mean?

http://guy.carpenter.id.au/gaugette/resources/switec/X25_xxx_01_SP_E-1.pdf (its very low current BTW)

How exactly did you wire it up? Flyback diodes?

Clearly your code cannot work as is as there is no delay between calls to setPosition and thus it will be called perhaps 100,000 to 1,000,000 times a second, far too fast for a mechanical system to respond. Perhaps just a delay (1) will suffice? Though check out the BlinkWithoutDelay sketch for a better approach to timing.

Hi Mark, the motor is exactly the one that you mentioned, and I connected it brutally to the board without diodes... but those should be only for protection am I right?