Xbee module configuration

Hey

I'm completely new to XBee's and trying to set up wireless communication in order to transmit the data from a 3 axis accelerometer to my laptop. One Xbee is mounted on an Exlporer Regulated which is wired up to the accelerometer and a 5V power source, the other is mounted on a USB Explorer board which is plugged into my laptop via USB.

I'm completely new to X-CTU and having real trouble configuring the Xbee's in order to establish a connection. Could anyone please help with the necessary settings?!

Thanks

Could anyone please help with the necessary settings?!

Without knowing which XBees you have? No. Are they series 1 (point to point) or series 2 (mesh network)?

Series 1 are easy. Set PAN ID on both to the same value. Then, set MY on one to DL on the other. Don't use 0 or 255 for MY or DL on either one.

Apologies, they are Series 1 modules.

The example I had been following required setting the transmitter properties such as destination/source address, analog/digital pics etc in the 'modem configuration' window. Is this not necessary?

Where do I find the PAN ID, MY, DL settings? They're not jumping out at me.

The Xbee's seem to also come up with an error message and need resetting almost every time I try to write something which I presume cannot be write!

*cannot be right!

PS should I be able to immediately see the data in the terminal window if there is a connection?

Correction... The PAN ID, MY and DL values I have are already set to the same values as you say

The example I had been following required setting the transmitter properties such as destination/source address, analog/digital pics etc in the 'modem configuration' window. Is this not necessary?

Destination address is DL. Source address is MY.

If you have stuff attached to the digital and/or analog pins, you need to configure them. If you don't, you don't.

Where do I find the PAN ID, MY, DL settings? They're not jumping out at me.