2 temp sensors, 2 4-digit 7 segment displays, 1 max7219

Hello all,

I am really new to this, but I am jumping in head first.

I have a project that I want to do. This is for my sons power wheel car. We are adding more volts to the motors to make it go faster. The only problem is the motors could get hot enough to fail. So what I want to do is put a temp sensor on each of the two motors and have 2 gauges that show the temperatures of them. I have 2 4-digit 7 segment displays, one for each temperature. I want to display the temps as xxx.x (3 digits, plus 1 decimal place). I have read that the max7219 chip I got to drive them can control all 8 digits on the two displays.

So far I have figured out how to read the temperature on both sensors and monitor it in the serial monitor. Now I have to figure out how to wire and program it to display the temps on the displays. This is what I need help with. I am pretty sure that I have figured out how to wire them, but I'm not sure how to do the programming.

Eventually, after I get this much working, I want to add code to turn on a couple of fans if the temperature goes above a certain temperature.

Thanks for any and all help for this newbie.

http://arduino.cc/playground/Main/MAX72XXHardware

Thanks! I have read up some more and I have all the hardware wired and working. I can run the demo sketches and the displays work great!

Now I need to figure out how to take the reading that the temp sensor gives and assign each of the numbers in the value to each of the digits in the display. Can someone point me in the right direction for that?

Thanks.

It would be helpful to know what you can do with your display so far.

Can you display digits or just random patterns of bars?

Do you know how you are controlling these digits or have you simply run an example sketch from somewhere?

From a basic overview you need to:

Define a font (if needed - see below).