3461BS, 12 pins, 7 segments, 4 digits help needed

Hello all, thank you for dropping in.
I am new to Arduino, coming from a background in Game Art and Design.

When I assembled my starterkit, I figured that numerical displays would come in handy.
Without any prior knowledge about how to look stuff up to see what is commonly used etc, I figured that anything would be as good as anything else for a beginner.
(Gotta start somewhere)

I have bought a 4 digit, 7 segment display with 12 connection pins.
On it, there is the serial "3461BS"

Every tutorial and resource I find works with a 16 pin system, or doesnt list any graphics/photos of how to connect the component with my Arduino Uno.
I was hoping to use it in combination with my Shiftregister, an "74HC595N", so that it doesnt use up all my connection ports.
I do not have a shield or anything, so I`d have to connect everything via my breadboard.

Does anybody have tutorials or resources to advice?
Or can anyone with the same components provide some photos of how to connect these parts?
I am very much a visual thinker, so a dry electronic schematic isn't much help I`m afraid..

Thanks in advance!

PS:
I found these resources already, but they weren't much help with my current level of knowledge.
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=139675.0
http://learn.parallax.com/4-digit-7-segment-led-display-arduino-demo
http://duinobits.com/ultimate-starter-kit-guide/4-digit-7-segment-led-display/
http://www.datasheetarchive.com/dl/Datasheets-SW20/DSASW00381837.pdf

1 Like

What you'll find out is that you have 8 segment pins and 4 digit pins.
The 8 segment pins connect all the As together, all the Bs, etc:

AA
F B
F B
GG
E C
E C
DD DP

The 4 digit pins will connect either the anodes or the cathodes of the segments of each digit together:
--|>|-- A Common Anode - the left side of the all the LEDs are connected
--|>|-- B
--|>|-- C Common Cathode - the right side of all the LEDs are connected
--|>|-- D
--|>|-- E
--|>|-- F