3xAA 1.5v batteries to 3.3V

Hi

I'm a bit new to this and have created one of my first projects that I want to have standalone powered by 3x AA 1.5v batteries.
As the voltage is around 4.5v together I cant use the 5v input. So the only option is 3.3v in.
But when i connect it there it won't start. When i regulate the voltage down to about 4.2v it work fine.

So my question is. What is the best way to handle this? With the 3 AA batteries.
What is the best way to regulate the voltage down to 3.3v-4.2v?
I have reaserched alot and from my understanding a buck converter (switching) req. 4.8v to get to 3.3v, so that is gone.
Or maybe a LDO HT7333 might work, but are they efficient enough?
Zener voltage diode? I use that today, but i really don't know if its that good?

I want to keep the price down also, I understand that a stepup-stepdown buck converter would be great, but I cant put a 6-10$ piece into this project.

So please help me in this issue. Thanks

What are you trying to connect to what? What type of Arduino/microcontroller? To what? with what?

Share a photo or a drawing.

If you want to power an arduono on 3.3V, make sure it CAN work on 3.3V in the first place. A Uno has a 3.3V output but doesn't work on 3.3V because it runs on 16Mhz and uses 5V logic.

Freddp:
As the voltage is around 4.5v together I cant use the 5v input. So the only option is 3.3v in.

I'm not aware of any Arduino that has separate 5V and 3.3V power IN. Not sure what you're trying to do due to a lack of details but pretty sure you're doing it wrong.

Anyway, if you just grab a 3.3V Pro Mini and connect the batteries to the Vcc pin you're set. if you don't need the 4.5V you can leave out one battery, those Arduinos work great on just two AAs.

wvmarle:
I'm not aware of any Arduino that has separate 5V and 3.3V power IN. Not sure what you're trying to do due to a lack of details but pretty sure you're doing it wrong.